Municipal Election candidate list finalized with many incumbents unopposed

Aug 16, 2018

While the Alaska general election candidate slate will be set on Tuesday, the ballot denizens for the Oct. 2 Kenai Peninsula municipal elections were finalized at 5 p.m. last (Wednesday) night.

And despite always vital and sometimes contentious and divisive debates on the assembly, the people in the districts served by two incumbents have not put forth challengers.

Brent Hibbert of Soldotna and Kenn Carpenter of Seward will run alone for re-election.

However a third incumbent, Willy Dunne of Homer, will face Troy Jones in the District 9 contest.

There's an unchallenged incumbent on the ballot for school board as well: Mike Illg of Homer. Meanwhile, Matthew Morse will challenge Tim Navarre for his seat in District 2, and there are three candidates taking on incumbent Marty Anderson to represent Seward, Sterling and Funny River: Nissa Fowler, Greg Madden and Karyn Griffin.

In the city of Kenai, there are three candidates for two open council seats. Council members in Kenai are elected at large, with the two top vote-getters being seated. However, only one incumbent, Bob Molloy, is running. He is joined on the ballot by Teea Winger and Robert Peterkin II.

And on the Soldotna City Council, there will be no drama at all, with all three office-holders running unchallenged. Incumbents Paul Whitney and Justin Ruffridge have each filed for re-election, while Jordan Chilson, was the only candidate to file for the seat to which he was appointed earlier this year.

In Homer, the candidate list is highlighted by who is not on it. Mayor Brian Zak is apparently not seeking re-election, as the final candidate list includes only Ken Castner and David Lewis seeking that office.

On the Homer City Council, incumbents Donna Aderhold and Heath Smith are joined on the ballot by Deb Lowney.

The municipal election is Oct. 2.