Municipal election season begins today

Aug 1, 2018

The filing window for residents interested in serving on local city councils, assemblys, and boards has opened. Candidate filing and nomination packets are available now until August 15 for those interested in running for office.

There are two seats available on the Kenai City Council and three on the Soldotna Council.

On the Soldotna Council, Seats A and C are available for full three-year terms. The positions are currently filled by Paul Whitney and Linda Murphy, respectively. Seat F is available for two years, to finish out the term of Keith Baxter, who resigned earlier this year due to moving out of the city. It's currently held by Justin Ruffridge, who was appointed to the seat until the upcoming election.

On the Kenai City Council, the terms of Bob Molloy and Mike Boyle are expiring, and the seats will be available for three-year terms. Kenai's council members are elected at large, with the top two vote-getters winning the seats.

On the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly, the terms of Brent Hibbert, Kenn Carpenter, and Willy Dunne are expiring. All three seats are for three-year terms.

The Kenai Peninsula Borough Board of Education has three seats available as well, currently belonging to Tim Navarre, Mike Illg and Marty Anderson. They are Districts 2, 5 and 8, covering Kenai, Sterling and Homer, respectively. Terms are for three year.