Vote! Municipal election is Oct. 5

Oct 5, 2021

The Kenai Peninsula Borough municipal election is today.

Kenai and Soldotna city councils have contested races for council seats. In Kenai, you vote for two candidates among five hopefuls. Victoria Askin, James Baisden, Alex Douthit, Jim Duffield and Deborah Sounart are running for the two open seats.

In Soldotna, you vote seat by seat. Three council seats are up for election. Linda Farnsworth-Hutchings is running unopposed for reelection to Seat A. For Seat B, Erick Hugarte is running for reelection against challenger Dan Nelson. For Seat C, Jordan Chilson is running for reelection against Micah Shields.

For the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly, Brent Hibbert is running unopposed for reelection to the Kalifornsky seat. For the east peninsula seat, Kenn Carpenter is running for reelection against Cindy Ecklund. And three candidates are vying for the south peninsula seat —

The Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly’s Kalifornsky, East Peninsula and South Peninsula Seats — Ashton Callahan, Dawson Slaughter and Mike Tupper are all running for the assembly’s south peninsula seat.

The school board has three seats up for election. In Kenai, Matthew Morse is running officially unopposed, though there is a write-in campaign for retired teacher Hal Smalley. The Sterling/Funny River Seat has two candidates, Benjamin Miller and Jennifer Waller. Britny Bradshaw and Tim Daugharty are running for the board’s Homer seat.

The Homer City Council has three seats available. Incumbent Donna Aderhold, Shelly Erickson and Adam Hykes are on the ballot for two of those seats. The other is a one-year seat, to finish out the term left by a resignation. Jason Davis was appointed to that seat and is seeking to hold onto it, against fellow council member Heath Smith, who decided not to run for reelection to his current three-year seat.

Service area board seats are up for grabs, as well. Voters will select members for the Bear Creek Fire Service Area, the Joint Operations Board for Central Peninsula Emergency Medical Service Area and Central Emergency Service Area, Nikiski Fire Service Area, Nikiski Senior Service Area, North Peninsula Recreation Service Area, Seward-Bear Creek Flood Service Area and the South Kenai Peninsula Hospital Service Area.

Information on those candidates and polling locations can be found on the Kenai Peninsula Borough website. The only change to polling locations this year is in Kasilof. Voting is being held at Kasilof Community Church.

Polls are open until 8 p.m.