Public Radio for the Central Kenai Peninsula
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Support KDLL, donate today

Champagne joins re-elected incumbents on HEA board

There'll be one new face on the Homer Electric Association board of directors after election results were tallied May 3 at the cooperative's annual meeting in Homer.

HEA members cast 3,196 ballots in person and by mail for the election which had three seats on the nine-member board up for grabs.

Incumbent Dave Carey, a former mayor of Soldotna and the Borough, ran unopposed for the seat representing Kenai, Nikiski, and Soldotna. It will be his 10th term on the board.

Roy Champagne of Anchor Point, who moved to Alaska in 2016, ran unopposed to represent Homer, Seldovia, and Kasilof after incumbent Don Stead resigned in February.

This year’s only contested seat was to represent Kenai, Nikiski, and parts of Soldotna, which was between incumbent Dave Thomas, who earned 771 votes — and Jason Ross, who tallied 247 votes.

HEA’s nine-member board of directors has three members representing each of its districts, with one-third of each district's seats on the ballot each year. In next year’s election, the seats currently occupied by directors Dan Chay, Ed Oberts, and Bill Fry will be on the ballot.

Related Content