Public Radio for the Central Kenai Peninsula
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Support KDLL, donate today

Chay, Oberts, McKittrick win HEA voter approval

 The two Central Peninsula representatives to the Homer Electric Board of Directors were re-elected at last week’s annual membership meeting.

In District 1 Kenai, Dan Chay ran unopposed and gathered 683 votes. There were 65 write-ins.

In District 2 Soldotna, incumbent Ed Oberts won re-election against challenger Ed Schmitt by a vote of 789 to 530, with 24 write-ins.

In the South Peninsula, Erin McKittrick of Seldovia defeated incumbent Gregory C. Martin Jr. of Homer by a vote of 966-709, with 20 write-ins.


The board meeting was held at Kenai Central High School, and a reported 300 people attended.

Once the new board was seated, Chay was re-elected board president. David B. Thomas will be vice president, Oberts secretary/treasurer, and Dan Furlong the deputy secretary.

Related Content