Public Radio for the Central Kenai Peninsula
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Support KDLL, make a donation today!

Hard numbers for winners and losers

        Looking at specific numbers in various contests in yesterday's municipal elections around the Kenai Peninsula:

Jesse Bjorkman gathered 477 votes to run away with the North Road assembly seat, compared to 175 for Joe Ross and 164 for Jonathan Quick.

Tyson Cox got 505 votes to Rose Henry's 347 in the Soldotna assembly race, while Brent Johnson had 436 to Holly Odd's 331 in the Kasilof/Clam Gultch assembly race.

In the one contested board of education race, Kalifornsky Beach District 1 incumbent Dan Castimore came in a distant third in a three-way race, getting only 136 votes. Susan Lockwood got 200 while winner Patricia Truesdell got 230.

Martha Fleming, running unopposed in Seward got 759 votes, while incumbent John Kelly of Homer ran unopposed and garnered 523 votes.

The vote to switch to a manager form of borough government instead of a strong mayor failed by about a thousand votes, 4,115 to 3,132. The increase in the sales tax cap failed by a little less than 700 votes, 3,985 to 3,317.

In Seward, incumbent mayor David Squires was defeated handily by Christy Terry 315 to 119 votes. Councilwoman Sue McClure was reelected handily, while incumbents Jeremy Horn and Suzanne Towsley were defeated by Dale Butts and Anthony Baclaan.