Couple from APU win Mt. Marathon races

Jul 5, 2018

The 2016 Mount Marathon men's champion and current course record holder took first place in yesterday's grueling race up and down the mountain that looms over Seward.

David Norris, a professional cross country skier for Alaska Pacific University won the 91st running of the event with a time of 42 minutes and 13 seconds. It was almost a minute off his record pace, but it still gave him a 20-second win over professional runner Max King of Bend, Oregon, who is a past World Mountain Running Champion. Adam Jensen of Anchorage finished third.

The women's race was notable by the absence of Kenai's Allie Ostrander. The two-time defending NCAA steeplechase champion skipped the race that she dominated as a teen.

Instead, it was a rookie that took home this year's Mount Marathon title. Jessica Yeaton of Anchorage, who skied for Australia in this year's Winter Olympics, finished in 51 minutes and 30 seconds, just less than four minutes off the record set in 2015. She also skis for APU.

On her heels was Mount Marathon veteran Denali Foldager-Strabel of Palmer, who finished in second place 30 seconds back. Rounding out the women's podium in third place was Christy Marvin of Palmer.