Municipal Election Day

Oct 2, 2018

Credit Kenai Peninsula Borough

It's municipal election day in the Central Kenai Peninsula, and there are plenty of choices on the ballot.

Or not as many, depending on where you live.

For example, both Kenai Peninsula Borough Assemblymen Brent Hibbert and Kenn Carpenter, representing Districts 1 and 6 respectively, are running for reelection unopposed.

Willy Dunne is the only one of the three assemblymen with a challenger -- the Homer assemblyman faces Troy Jones in District 9.

The lack of challengers extends to the Soldotna City Council, where all three candidates, Paul Whitney, Jordan Chilson and Justin Riffridge, are all running unopposed.

The story is different on the Kenai City Council, where the three candidates, incumbent Bob Molloy and newcomers Robert Peterkin II and Teea Winger are vying for only two vacant seats. Incumbent Tim Navarre is not seeking reelection to the Kenai City Council, but there is a contender for his seat on the school board.

Matthew Morse is taking Navarre on for the District 2-Kenai seat, while four candidates are seeking the District 5-Sterling/Funny River seat. Incumbent Marty Anderson faces challenges from three others, Karyn Griffin, Greg Madden and Nissa Fowler. School Board member Mike Illg (illg) of Homer-District 8 is unopposed.

Of the seven service district seats up for grabs, only one, Seat F in the Nikiski Fire Service Area, has a contest. Todd Paxton and Peter Ribbens are vying to replace Stan Gerhauser.

Also on the ballot is Proposition 1, a general obligation bond to build a new K-12 school in Kachemak Selo; and Propositions 2 and 3, that could shift the boundary between the Central Peninsula and the South Kenai Peninsula hospital service areas.

Polls opened at 7 a.m., and won't close until 8 p.m.