Election 2019

The lasting story from Tuesday's municipal elections may be the involvement of a local political action committee in the borough assembly race and the resultant intervention by the Alaska Public Offices Commission.
    The group Alaska Yes campaigned for candidates in the Nikiski, Soldotna and Central Area races, placing partisan political ads online and on commercial radio attacking the eventual winners.

On the day after voters on the Kenai Peninsula went to the polls, hosts Shaylon Cochran and Jay Barrett welcome retiring Assemblyman Dale Bagley to the studio to recap a somewhat wild municipal election season.

        Looking at specific numbers in various contests in yesterday's municipal elections around the Kenai Peninsula:

Jesse Bjorkman gathered 477 votes to run away with the North Road assembly seat, compared to 175 for Joe Ross and 164 for Jonathan Quick.

Tyson Cox got 505 votes to Rose Henry's 347 in the Soldotna assembly race, while Brent Johnson had 436 to Holly Odd's 331 in the Kasilof/Clam Gultch assembly race.