Homer Electric Association


Some Kenai Peninsula residents were still without power Thursday, with more than a foot of snow in some areas weighing down power lines and trees.


Over 1,100 Central Peninsula residents are without power this morning as heavy snow shorted power lines overnight.

The electricity failed at about 3 a.m. in Kenai, affecting 303 customers of Homer Electric Co-Op. There are 742 customers affected in Nikiski, 18 in Soldotna, and 48 in Kasilof.

The 1,127 customers affected, according to HEA's outage map, represent about 3.5-percent of the members it serves.

    The monetary cost of the Swan Lake Fire, still smoldering between Sterling and Cooper Landing, has yet to be tallied up completely, but in addition to lost tourism and retail dollars due to the blaze, add increased electric rates — for some.
    Utility officials say the fire damaged the high-voltage power transmission lines that connect the Bradley Lake hydroelectric dam near Homer to the rest of the railbelt.

 The two Central Peninsula representatives to the Homer Electric Board of Directors were re-elected at last week’s annual membership meeting.

In District 1 Kenai, Dan Chay ran unopposed and gathered 683 votes. There were 65 write-ins.

In District 2 Soldotna, incumbent Ed Oberts won re-election against challenger Ed Schmitt by a vote of 789 to 530, with 24 write-ins.

In the South Peninsula, Erin McKittrick of Seldovia defeated incumbent Gregory C. Martin Jr. of Homer by a vote of 966-709, with 20 write-ins.

HEA Dist. 2 candidates

Apr 11, 2019

Mail-in ballots for the upcoming Homer Electric Association board of directors annual election have started showing up in co-op member mailboxes around the area. On the ballot are candidates for one seat in each of the three HEA regions.

In District 1, the Kenai area, the lone candidate is incumbent Dan Chay. In District 3, the Lower Peninsula, a Seldovia woman, Erin McKittrick, is challenging the middle-age white male hegemony on the board, and faces fellow board new-comer Gregory Martin Jr. of Homer. The winner will replace board member Bill Fry.